3_0_Kreuzchor_Campus_header

DRESDEN'S BEST SCHOOLS

Both at primary-level 3rd and 4th grades and at secondary-school level, Crucians benefit from an education at Dresden's most renowned schools.

3_1_kreuzchor_lernen

Until their graduation in 12th grade, Crucians attend the Kreuzgymnasium (Grammar School of the Holy Cross) on their very own campus. In one of Germany’s oldest and best-known schools, one of whose past pupils was Richard Wagner, the singers up to grade 7 learn in their own classes, separate from the other non-choir pupils of the school, in order to be better able to reconcile the daily demands of choir and school at the beginning of their careers. From 8th grade on, Crucians study with non-choir pupils in regular classes with an emphasis on music. Singers in grade 3 and 4 are also in separate classes. They are taught in the school called the “63rd primary school”, which is in a separate building but still forms part of the campus.

UNWINDING ON CAMPUS – A LIFE THAT NEVER GETS BORING

What does a Crucian do when he's not singing? He has all sorts of options.

3_2_kreuzchor_freizeit

The singers’ large – sometimes extraordinary – workload on almost every day means that unwinding during their free time is especially important. Football, handball, basketball in their own gym or on the artificial turf field on the campus, swimming in one of the nearby indoor pools, cycling on one of the most beautiful cycle routes along the Elbe or climbing in Saxon Switzerland – there is a considerable number of activities to choose from. What’s more, hardly any other German city can boast as many museums. Parks, theatres and cinemas are also very close by.

HEALTHY DIET

Even Crucians get hungry making music: Preparing five meals a day for seven days a week is the job of an eight-person team.

3_3_kreuzchor_kochen

The choir’s daily meals – one of the biggest challenges – are taken care of by a team of eight people headed by chef Mathias Schulz.
His priority: fresh and varied food. The singers’ wellbeing is very important considering their extraordinary workload. Five meals a day are provided and these are usually taken by the choir together. Special rehearsal and concert periods are handled flexibly around the clock by the catering team. Vegetarian options and food allergies are catered for as matter of course.

A WHOLE HOUSE TO THEMSELVES

The Crucians' boarding house is called Alumnat: about two thirds of all choristers live here.

3_3_kreuzchor_alumnat

Most Crucians live in the Alumnat – a multi-storey, venerable old building directly on the campus in the Dresden quarter of Striesen. This is compulsory in 4th grade; later the choristers have a choice if their parents’ house is not too far away. Gym, sauna, bistro as well as quiet spots – the Alumnat offers numerous opportunities to relax. The boys are supported and supervised by a large team of educators under the direction of Martina Schellhorn. The staff, as well as a nurse who is responsible for the choristers’ health care, are available to the singers around the clock.

ENCHANT PEOPLE - BECOME A CRUCIAN

Happy years in the community: Every year, the Dresden Kreuzchor admits more than 20 new Crucians (“Kruzianer”).

3_4_kreuzchor_kruzianer

It’s the dream of many music-loving boys in Germany: becoming a member of the Dresden Kreuzchor. Standing on the world’s biggest stages, wearing a suit and the famous white “Schiller collar”. Every year there is a huge number of applicants and about 20 young singers are selected for admission to the preparatory class. The requirements are high but the prospects are even higher.

3_0_Kreuzchor_Campus_header

DRESDENS BESTE SCHULEN

Ob 3. und 4. Klasse oder Gymnasium: Die Kruzianer werden an den renommiertesten Schulen Dresdens unterrichtet.

3_1_kreuzchor_lernen

Kruzianer besuchen bis zum Abitur in Klasse 12 das Evangelische Kreuzgymnasium direkt auf dem Campus. In einer der ältesten und bekanntesten Schulen Deutschlands, in der schon Richard Wagner unterrichtet wurde, lernen die Sänger bis zur Klasse 7 in eigenen Klassen, um so – am Anfang ihrer Laufbahn – die täglichen Anforderungen von Chor und Schule besser harmonisieren zu können. Ab Klasse 8 sind Kruzianer Teil gemischter, regulärer Klassen mit musischem Profil. Sänger in Klasse 3 und 4 lernen ebenfalls in Spezialklassen. Die 63. Grundschule unterrichtet sie in einem separaten Gebäude, das ebenfalls Teil des Campus ist.

AUSGLEICH AUF DEM PLATZ – LEBEN OHNE LANGEWEILE

Was tut ein Kruzianer, wenn er mal nicht singt? Er hat alle nur denkbaren Möglichkeiten.

3_2_kreuzchor_freizeit

Das große – teils außergewöhnliche – Pensum der Sänger an fast jedem Tag macht den Ausgleich in der Freizeit besonders wichtig. Fußball, Handball, Basketball in der Halle oder auf dem Kunststoffplatz auf dem Campus, Schwimmen in einem der nahen Bäder, Radfahren auf einem der schönsten deutschen Radwege entlang der Elbe oder Klettern in der Sächsischen Schweiz – die sportlichen Angebote sind außerordentlich. In kaum einer anderen deutschen Stadt stehen zudem so viele Museen. Parks, Theater und Kinos befinden sich ebenfalls in unmittelbarer Nähe.

GESUND ERNÄHREN

Musizieren macht auch Kruzianer hungrig: Sie an sieben Tagen in der Woche mit jeweils fünf Mahlzeiten zu versorgen, ist die Aufgabe eines achtköpfigen Teams.

3_3_kreuzchor_kochen

Für die tägliche Verpflegung des Chores – eine der größten Herausforderungen – ist das achtköpfige Team um Küchenchef Mathias Schulz verantwortlich. Sein Anspruch: Frische Vielfalt. Bei ihrem außergewöhnlichen Pensum müssen sich die Sänger wohlfühlen. Fünf Mahlzeiten pro Tag stehen auf dem Speiseplan, die meistens vom Chor gemeinsam eingenommen werden. Auf spezielle Proben- oder Konzertzeiten reagiert das Versorgungs-Team rund um die Uhr flexibel. Vegetarische Angebote und das Beachten spezieller Lebensmittel-Unverträglichkeiten sind selbstverständlich.

EIN GANZES HAUS FÜR SICH ALLEIN

Das Internat der Kruzianer heißt Alumnat: hier wohnen etwa zwei Drittel aller Chorsänger.

3_3_kreuzchor_alumnat

Die meisten Kruzianer wohnen im Alumnat – einem mehrstöckigen, altehrwürdigen Haus direkt auf dem Campus im Dresdner Stadtteil Striesen. In der 4. Klasse ist dies obligatorisch, später haben die Sänger die Wahl, so die Entfernung zur elterlichen Wohnung nicht zu groß ist. Fitness-Raum, Sauna, eigenes Bistro, aber auch Rückzugsmöglichkeiten – Kruzianer haben im Alumnat unzählige Möglichkeiten zur Entspannung. Begleitet und geführt werden die Jungen von einem großen Erzieherteam unter der Leitung von Martina Schellhorn.

Dessen Mitglieder stehen den Sängern rund um die Uhr zur Verfügung, genau wie eine eigene Krankenschwester, die für die medizinische Versorgung des Chores verantwortlich ist.

MENSCHEN BEGEISTERN – KRUZIANER WERDEN

Glückliche Jahre in der Gemeinschaft: Der Dresdner Kreuzchor nimmt jedes Jahr mehr als 20 neue Kruzianer auf.

3_4_kreuzchor_kruzianer

Es ist der Traum vieler musikbegeisterter Jungs in ganz Deutschland: Mitglied im Dresdner Kreuzchor. Im Anzug mit dem berühmten weißen Schillerkragen auf den großen Bühnen der Welt stehen. Jedes Jahr werden etwa 20 kleine Sänger in die Vorbereitungsklasse aufgenommen. Die Anforderungen sind groß. Der Ausblick aber ist noch größer.